Connect with us

Floyd Schools

One Floyd Co. School Named Receives 2020 National Blue Ribbon Recognition

Eight Georgia public schools were named 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools this week and one Floyd County School was named to that list.

Eight Georgia public schools were named 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools this week.

Pro Roof GA

Blue Ribbon is a national recognition from the U.S. Department of Education (USED). The Georgia schools named 2020 recipients of the honor are:

  • Academy for Classical Education – Elementary (State Charter Schools Commission)
  • Academy for Classical Education – Middle (State Charter Schools Commission)
  • Martha Ellen Stilwell School for the Performing Arts (Clayton County Schools)
  • Murdock Elementary School (Cobb County Schools)
  • Stevens Creek Elementary School (Columbia County Schools)
  • Brooks Elementary School (Coweta County Schools)
  • DeKalb Early College Academy (DeKalb County Schools)
  • Johnson Elementary School (Floyd County Schools)
  • State Bridge Crossing Elementary School (Fulton County Schools)

“National Blue Ribbon Schools are among the best of the best in our country,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods said. “I am extremely proud of the educators and students at these Georgia public schools and offer my heartfelt congratulations to each one of them. This is a well-deserved recognition and shines a spotlight on schools working hard to expand opportunities for students.”

US ED recognizes schools in two performance categories:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest-performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest-performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s student groups and all students.

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. USED invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by the Council for American Private Education (CAPE).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *