Connect with us

Evans Local Spotlight

1st Annual ‘Best of Battle Creek’ Class Announced by TCHS Journalism Class

After fielding dozens of nominations for the inaugural class of the ‘Best of Battle Creek,’ Tattnall County High School’s Journalism class has released the selection winners for the 2019-2020 school year.

Alumni, school system staff, students, and members of the community were encouraged to submit nominations through an application process back in August, which were turned over to the Journalism class at Tattnall County High School for consideration.

To be considered for this prestigious award, nominees:

  • Must have graduated from Tattnall County High School in 2014 or earlier;
  • Must be willing to submit a photo, if selected, to be published by the Tattnall County High School journalism class’ newsletter, The Journal Sentinel, AllOnGeorgia and all other related entities;
  • Must agree to be interviewed either in person or electronically by students from the Tattnall County High School journalism class;
  • Must be willing to attend a luncheon in the spring to recognize all honorees throughout the school year.

The criteria for the award winners includes:

  • Must have made a positive impact in the fields of leadership, business, community relations, education, and/or philanthropy;
  • Must demonstrate a commitment to maintain a lifelong relationship with Tattnall County High School;
  • Must bring recognition and pride to Tattnall County High School.

Nomination applications were considered by the committee without names or identifying information.

In a press release, TCHS noted that “This prestigious and humbling award honors alumni from Tattnall County High School who have made positive contributions to society and earned remarkable accomplishments in their years since graduation. Out of thousands of alumni who have roamed the Banks of Battle Creek, these eight were selected.”

Here are the members of the First Annual Best of Battle Creek class:

TCHS Class of 1994

Allison Cobb 

TCHS Class of 1996

Dale Howell

TCHS Class of 1998  

Matthew Swain


TCHS Class of 2009

Bruce Dubberly 
Emily Fountain 
Jordan Huerta 

TCHS Class of 2011 

Quaysean Davis 

TCHS Class of 2012 

Kenny Murphy, Jr.
Tattnall County High School’s journalism class will be spotlighting one finalist per month throughout the school year and the interviews will be published on Battle Creek Arrow website and newsletter, AllOnGeorgia, and The Journal Sentinel.  

Jessica Szilagyi is a former Statewide Contributor for

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *