Connect with us

Muscogee Local News

Two last-minute candidates for mayor emerge

Former mayoral candidate Zeph Baker is running for mayor of Columbus once again and he is joined in the race by Winfred Shipman Jr., — a candidate who lists his occupation as God and Jesus.

Pro Roof GA

Qualifying for the May 22 local election ended around noon on Friday and in its wake is an unusually crowded ballot for mayor. By the time doors were closed at the Board of Elections office there were four candidates for the top spot: Danny Arencibia, Beth Harris, Berry “Skip” Henderson and Charles Roberts along with Baker and Shipman.

Zeph Baker, who unsuccessfully ran for mayor in 2010, qualified for a second time on Friday. He’s a member of the staff at Spirit Filled Ministries and a former candidate for the Georgia House of Representatives and Columbus Council.

Other late qualifiers emerged for Columbus Council and the Muscogee County School Board:

• Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce official Amy Askew Bryan in the District 10 council race against John House and Tollie Strode Jr.

• Cheryl McCraine, a first-time candidate for the District 2 school board race against former educator Mike Edmondson and businessman John “Bart” Steed.

Here’s the unofficial ballot as of March 9:




Danny Arencibia

Zeph Baker

Beth Harris

Berry “Skip” Henderson

Charles Roberts

Winfred Shipman Jr.



District 1

Jerry “Pops” Barnes (i)

Gregory Blue

District 3

Bruce Huff (i)

Juanita Upshaw

District 5

Charmaine Crabb

District 7

Siavosh Etemadi

Jeremy Hobbs

Evelyn “Mimi” Woodson (i)

District 9 At-Large

Regina Liparoto

Judy Thomas (i)

District 10 At-Large

Amy Askew Bryan

John House

Tollie Strode Jr.




District 2

Mike Edmondson

Cheryl McCraine

John “Bart” Steed

District 4

Naomi Buckner (i)

Toyia Tucker

District 6

Mark Cantrell (i)

Eddie Obleton

Robert Mathias Roth

District 8

Frank Myers (i)

Dr. Philip Schley


Kia Chambers (i)

Tony McCool

(i) Incumbent

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *