Connect with us

Georgia News

Major Disaster Declared for 25 Additional Georgia Counties

Governor Brian Kemp has announced 25 additional Georgia counties affected by Hurricane Idalia are now eligible to apply for disaster assistance. The disaster declaration now covers Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Echols, Emanuel, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Lanier, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Thomas, Tift, Ware and Wayne Counties for Public Assistance.

Cook, Glynn and Lowndes Counties now include Categories C-G: permanent work, which is already designated for Individual Assistance, and assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

Individual Assistance can fund individual and family recovery efforts, which may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of Hurricane Idalia.

Public Assistance is available to state and local government entities and qualified not-for-profit organizations. It will provide financial aid for debris removal and emergency work.

Individuals in these designated counties can apply for assistance in any of the following ways:

  • Online at
  • Calling 800-621-3362

For more information on the Major Disaster Declaration or Public Assistance, please email, and for Individual Assistance, email

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *