Connect with us

Georgia Politics

Special Election Districts 34 & 156, Runoffs to Replace 2 Georgia State House Members

Two special elections were held in Georgia on June 15 to replace resigned state representatives in Districts 34 and 156.  The winners will advance to a runoff on July 13.

Pro Roof GA

House District 34 covers parts of Kennesaw and Marietta in Cobb County. Republican Devan Seabaugh and Democrat Priscilla Smith will be in the runoff. Seabaugh is an ambulance company executive from Marietta. Smith is an artist and educator from Kennesaw. Others in this election were Democrat Sam Hensley of Marietta, Republican David Blinkhorn of Kennesaw, and Libertarian Chris Neill of Marietta.

The runoff winner will replace representative Republican Bert Reeves of Marietta, who held the seat for seven years. Reeves resigned to take the position of vice-president of institute relations at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Results from Georgia Secretary of State’s Office

House District 156 covers Montgomery and Toombs counties, and parts of Appling and Jefferson Davis. Republican Leesa Hagan and Republican Wally Sapp are the top two contenders. Hagan is Toombs County Republican Party Chairman from Lyons. Sapp is an auto dealer from Baxley. Coming in third was Democrat Wright Gres of Baxley.

The runoff winner will replace Republican Greg Morris of Vidalia, who was chairman of the House committee on banks and banking. Morris resigned after being elected to the State Transportation Board. Board members, which serve a five-year term, are elected by a General Assembly caucus majority from each of Georgia’s fourteen congressional districts.

Results from Georgia Secretary of State’s office



1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Mary Swann

    June 16, 2021 at 9:31 pm

    Rockdale county had a run off and used same machines that printed a QR code…
    Curious if Kinney actually lost?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *