Connect with us

Crime & Safety

Over $5.6 Million in Grants Awarded Through Law Enforcement Training Program in Georgia

Today, Governor Brian P. Kemp and Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (CJCC) Executive Director Jay Neal announced the awards of 46 grants totaling $5,618,762 through the Law Enforcement Training Grant Program.

“We are committed to providing our brave law enforcement officers the specialized training and resources they need to keep Georgians safe,” said Governor Kemp. “This grant program will help pay for essential training – including in use of force and de-escalation – for state and local law enforcement officers to ensure they are prepared for whatever they may encounter while protecting their communities.”

During the 2021 legislative session, Governor Kemp recommended, and lawmakers approved, continued support of a law enforcement training grant program through the CJCC for state and local law enforcement agencies. The program was designed to grant funds on a competitive basis to support scenario-based, hands-on training for law enforcement officers in use of force or de-escalation. For this funding cycle, Crisis Intervention Training (CIT) and Officer Mental Health were added as priority areas.

“Governor Kemp and the Georgia legislature have made it a priority to provide our law enforcement officers with the training and resources they need to better serve the people of Georgia, and we at CJCC are pleased to be a part of this effort,” said CJCC Executive Director Jay Neal.



Recipient Agency

Award Amount

Alpharetta Police Department


Barnesville Police Department


Carroll County Sheriff’s Office


Cartersville Police Department


Catoosa County Sheriff’s Office


Chatham County Sheriff’s Office


Chattooga County Sheriff’s Office


Coastal Pines Technical College Police Department


Cobb County Sheriff’s Office


College Park Police Department


Coweta County Sheriff’s Office


Crisp County Sheriff’s Office


DeKalb County Police Department


DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office


Dunwoody Police Department


Floyd County Police Department


Forsyth County Sherriff’s Office


Fulton County District Attorney’s Office


Gainesville Police Department


Georgia Department of Corrections


Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice


Georgia Department of Natural Resources – Law Enforcement Division


Georgia Department of Public Safety


Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council


Georgia Piedmont Technical College Police Department


Georgia Public Safety Training Center


Gwinnett County Sheriff’s Office


Henry County Police Department


Henry County Sheriff’s Office


Kennesaw Police Department


Long County Sheriff’s Office


Milton Police Department


Morgan County Sheriff’s Office


Morrow Police Department


Muscogee County Sheriff’s Office


Norcross Police Department


Paulding County Sheriff’s Office


Peachtree City Police Department


Richmond County Marshal’s Office


Savannah-Chatham Board of Education Police Department


Statesboro Police Department


Telfair County Sheriff’s Office


Toccoa Police Department


Twiggs County Sheriff’s Office


Waycross Police Department


West Georgia Technical College Foundation


Total Amount Awarded



To learn more about how to apply for grants, click here.

For more information regarding the Law Enforcement Training Grant Program, contact Laura Thompson at or 404-858-1830.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *