Connect with us


Kemp Names Coronavirus Task Force

Most of the task force members are agency heads.

Governor Brian Kemp announced a coronavirus task force on Friday to assess Georgia’s preparations and procedures for preventing, identifying, and – if needed – addressing cases of COVID-19.

Governor Kemp made this announcement following a morning call with Vice President Mike Pence about the Trump Administration’s efforts to facilitate interagency cooperation and proactive measures to mitigate COVID-19’s impact.

“The Trump Administration understands that states and local governments are standing on the front lines of COVID-19, working tirelessly to ensure the health and safety of Americans. The President wisely selected Vice President Pence – a former governor with expertise in emergency preparedness – to coordinate this national effort, and I deeply appreciate the Vice President’s offers of assistance should the need arise in Georgia,” said Governor Kemp. “In accordance with the Administration’s initiatives, Georgia’s coronavirus task force represents a coalition of subject-matter experts from the private and public sectors who will work together on preventative measures, strategic deployment of resources, and collaboration across all levels of government.”

“At this time, there are no confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Georgia, but we remain vigilant and continue to plan for all contingencies. Fortunately, the Peach State boasts some of the world’s most advanced healthcare experts and institutions, including the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,” said Georgia Department of Public Health Commissioner Kathleen Toomey, MD, MPH. “We are taking action now – ahead of any confirmed cases – to make sure that we are ready for any scenario.”

Governor’s Coronavirus Task Force

Felipe den Brok
Director – City of Atlanta’s Office of Emergency Preparedness

Homer Bryson
Director – Georgia Emergency Management & Homeland Security Agency

Major General Tom Carden
Adjutant General – Georgia National Guard

Chris Carr
Attorney General – Office of the Attorney General

Sharon Cooper, RN, MSN
Chair – State House Health & Human Services Committee

Greg Dozier
Commissioner – Technical College System of Georgia

Cherie Drenzek
State Epidemiologist – Georgia Department of Public Health

Tim Fleming
Chief of Staff – Office of the Governor

John Haupert, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer – Grady Health System

John King
Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner – Georgia Department of Insurance

Colleen Kraft, MD
Director – Emory University Clinical Virology Research Laboratory

Ryan Loke
Healthcare Advisor – Office of the Governor

John Selden
General Manager – Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport

Lorri Smith
Chief Operating Officer – Office of the Governor

Kathleen Toomey, MD, MPH
Commissioner – Georgia Department of Public Health

Ben Watson, MD
Chair – State Senate Health & Human Services Committee

Richard Woods
State School Superintendent – Georgia Department of Education

Steve Wrigley
Chancellor – University System of Georgia


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *