Connect with us

Chattooga Sports

A Season to Remember

Chattooga’s Head Basketball Coach Jared Groce recently hosted a season ending banquet to celebrate what was an amazing basketball season and one that Indian fans will always remember. The Chattooga Indian Boys Varsity had a season for the record books going 26-2, beating Cartersville, winning the Region 7-AA Championship and making it to the Elite Eight game.  At the banquet each individual player was recognized, stand out players were awarded and the scholar athletes recognized.

A video was shown to highlight the season stat leaders, watch it here:



Jay Shropshire

Offensive Player of the Year
Season Leader in Points, Field Goals Made,
and Three Point Shots Made
Most Points in a Single Game
Dunk of the Year
Block of the Year
Buzzer-Beater of the Year

Isaiah Foster Most Valuable Player

Region 7-AA Basketball Tournament

Defensive Player of the Year
Season Leader in Assists, Steals,
and Deflections
Most Defensive Stops per Game
Best Free Throw Percentage
Most Assists in a Single Game
Most Steals in a Single Game

Isaac Foster

Region 7-AA Basketball Tournament

Scholar Athlete of the Year
Comeback Player of the Year
Season Leader in 3-Point Percentage

Devin Price

Region 7-AA Basketball Tournament

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
Season Leader in Rebounds and Blocks
Highest Field Goal Percentage
Most Points in the Paint
Most Charges Taken
Most Rebounds in a Single Game
Most Points per Shot

Clayton Johnson

Most Improved Player

Montavius Shropshire

Region 7-AA Basketball Tournament

Hustle Award
Team Captain


2017 CHS Varsity Team members: Jamarious Mosteller, Isaiah Foster, Jay Shropshire, Jalin Perry, Devin Price, Rhett Walker, Glenn Walker, Malachi Mack, Bruce Horner, Nuk Adams, Clayton Johnson, Montavius Shropshire, Jay Broome, Isaac Foster and C.J. Martin.

The Junior Varsity Indians had an equally impressive season going undefeated with a 13-0 record. Jatorrian Williams (Big) was the awarded as the highest scorer on the JV team.

JV Team Members: Jaterrion Williams (TT), Jatorrian Williams (Big), Yusef Shockley, Tre Flowers, Dylan Woody, Landen Gentry, Quenton Perry, Austin Farris, L.J. Gibson and Robert Villagomez.

In order to be a scholar athlete, the student must currently have a GPA of a 3.0 or higher in their core classes. The scholar athlete award of the year went to Isaac Foster who had the highest GPA on the team. Isaiah Foster, Devin Price, Rhett Walker, Clayton Johnson, Jamarious Mosteller, Quenton Perry, Bruce Horner, CJ Martin, Jatorrian Williams, Jay Broome and Dylan Woody also received scholar athlete awards.

Team managers Cydni White, Karcaria McCutchins and Lexie Johnson were also recognized.

Chattooga Indian coaches, Arthur Burse, Zack Martin, Rachel Groce and Head Coach Jared Groce.

Villeda Concrete

Casie Bryant is the NW Georgia Regional Manager for AllOnGeorgia.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *