Connect with us

Georgia Politics

Purcell Re-elected to Serve Third Term on State Transportation Board

On Tuesday, March 1, 2022 a caucus of Georgia state representatives and senators from Congressional District 1 held elections for the State Transportation Board. Ann R. Purcell, who currently represents Congressional District 1 in Southeast Georgia, was re-elected to serve her third term.

Pro Roof GA

Purcell, a former state legislator, served as chairperson of the State Transportation Board in 2018-2019. She currently serves as the Chair of the Statewide Transportation Planning/Strategic Planning Committee and is the Vice Chair of the Intermodal Committee. Purcell also is a member of the Finance Committee, Legislative Committee, Program Delivery Committee and the Gateways Committee. She represents 17 counties in Southeast Georgia those include Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Echols, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Pierce, Ware and Wayne.

On being re-elected to the Board, Purcell spoke to the busy agenda for 2022 as the state rebounds from the COVID-19 pandemic. “As we continue on the road to normalcy, Georgia DOT remains steadfast in its efforts to boost the competitiveness of the state by improving freight mobility, enhancing quality of life for our constituents and focusing on moving Georgia forward,” she said.

Purcell was born in Glennville, Georgia, and graduated from Georgia Southern College with a degree in education majoring in mathematics. She and her husband Dent have three children and eight grandchildren.

Georgia DOT is governed by a 14-member State Transportation Board which exercises general control and supervision of the Department. The Board is entrusted with powers which include, but are not limited to: naming the Commissioner; designating which public roads are encompassed within the state highway system; approving long-range transportation plans; overseeing the administration of construction contracts; and authorizing lease agreements. Board Members are elected by a majority of a General Assembly caucus from each of Georgia’s fourteen congressional districts. Each board member serves a five-year term.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *