Connect with us

Chattooga Local News

Chattooga County 4-H’ers take home numerous awards and valuable life skills

4-H Awards Program was held May 9, 2016 at the Summerville First Baptist Church.   4-H members were presented awards for their individual and team achievements.  Each of these young people participated on the District or State level.   There were 115 young people who received awards and many of them received additional awards as they participated in more than one event.


The evening was led by the Chattooga County 4-H Council Officers: Hamp Thomas, President; Mekenzie Parker, Vice-President; Faith Coalson, Secretary; Kendra Conner Marketing Officer; Cam Anderson, Service Learning Officer; Kaitlyn Conner, Health Officer; and Tyler Hunt, Sports & Recreation Officer.   The theme for the event was “4-H an Ocean of Possibilities.”  


Modified Trap – Shotgun: Awardees were Bradyn Elsberry, Cody Maynard, Dakota Finster, Easton Owens, Matthew Geurin, Nick Scott, Austin Jones, Brandon Skinner, Micah Jones, Trent Skinner, Joshua Keith, Madison Smith, Samuel Mangan, and Michael Smith.  The Shotgun team was coached by Head Coach, Mitch Maynard and Assistant Coach, Jonathan Smith


BB Rifle: Awardees were Ayden Abee, Erika Sexton, Brittonie Cordle, Serenity Swift, Mason Dunaway, Jasmine Thibodeaux, Max Kilgore, Linzie Thompson, Ayden Riley, and James Wester.  State Individual Awards presented to James Wester, 2nd in prone position and Erika Sexton, 5th in kneeling position.  The Team was coached by Head Coach, Will Thompson, assistant coaches, Bo Conner and Butch Cordle and Team Manager, Angie Conner


Archery: Awardees were Ashley Edwards, Ross Moore, Joseph Edwards, Dylan O’Kelley, Katelyn Hollingsworth, Logan Pinion, Eli McQueese, Elijah Sargent, and Trey Westbrooks

State Individual Award went to Joseph Edwards for scoring 12th high individual.

The Archery Team was coached by Head Coach, Tiffany Westbrook and Assistant Coach, Curtis Long


.22 Rim Fire Rifle: Awardees were Cody Conner, Josh Koonce, Kendra Conner, Mekenzie Parker, and Leslie Thompson.  State Individual Awards were received by Mekenzie Parker, 1st Place Open Sites – MASTER 4-H’er and 7th place Telescopic; Cody Conner, 2nd Place Telescopic; and Leslie Thompson, 3rd Place Telescopic.  State 2nd Place Team members were Leslie Thompson, Kendra Conner, & Josh Koonce.  

The .22 Rifle Team was coached by Head Coach, Derek Parker and Assistant Coach, Will Thompson.  Team Manager was Amanda Parker.


Livestock Showman Awards went to:  Cam Anderson, Goats; Noah Floyd, Goats; Emma Rae Ward, Dairy Cows; Emma Cooper, Swine; and Kara Cooper, Swine


State Horse Quiz Bowl: Awardees were Lilly Kennedy, Mayzie McKenzie, Emma Long, and Rylee Wells.  The Horse Quiz Bowl Team is coached by Tracey Long & Kimberly Wallace.


Poultry Project Winners: Tori Blalock, Kaylan Moseley, Emma Cooper, Easton Owens, Brittonie Cordle, Madi Owens, Hannah Howard, Taylor Ozment, Rhett Kiger, Riley Reeves, Sophie McGill, Jonathan Thompson, and Linzie Thompson


CBCJ – Cotton Boll & Consumer Judging:  Awardees wereDylan Adams, Tyler Hunt, Levi Adams, Logan Money, Bronson Champion, Travan Neal, Faith Coalson, Mekenzie Parker, Chandler Godfrey, Natalie Peterson, Kristen Hankins,and  Lily Thibodeaux.  The team was coached by Susan Locklear and Amanda Parker.  

Clovers & Company member: Bronson Champion received an achievement award.  


5th & 6th District Project Achievement Winners and project areas:

Mason Anderson – Outdoor Survival Skills, Evelin Arellano – Horse, Alonzo Baltazar – Wildlife

Emma Grace Blair – Veterinary Science, Chloe Bryson – Environmental Science, Jayci Castro – Crafts, Ainsley Cavin – Health, Emily Clifton – Dog Care & Training, Kara Cooper – Poultry & Egg Science, Adam Dawson – History, Mason Dunaway – Outdoor Survival Skills, Anna Edge – Performing Arts Instrumental, Emily Hegwood – Human Development, Jacob Huitron – Marine & Coastal Ecology, Max Kilgore -Target Sports, Alyssa Lea – General Recreation, Peyton McHan – Arts, Nasiah McVay – Flowers, Shrubs, & Lawns, Sarah Millican – History

Tatum Money – General Recreation, Austin Morris -Workforce Preparation & Career Development, Shelby Nutter – Rabbits, Maggie Ragland – History, Amaya Reese – Workforce Preparation & Career Development, Ayden Riley – History, Sean Sammons – Safety, Mary Alex Sausville – Beef, Lauren Smith – Rabbits, Serenity Swift – Outdoor Survival Skills, Bailey Thomas – General Science, Jeremias Villatoro – Safety, Emma Rae Ward – Dairy & Milk Science, Rylee Wells – Horse, Kadence White – General Recreation, Daisy Winter – Environmental Science, and John Patterson- Computer Information Technology


7th & 8th grade District Project Achievement winners and project areas:

Tori Blalock, Better Breakfast, Makayla McBride, Performing Arts – Vocal, Brecklyn Brown, Crafts, Bailey Pence, Human Development, Mary Anna Bentley, Dairy & Milk Science, Natalie Peterson, Performing Arts – General, Gray Beach, Festive Foods For Health, Chloe Rosser, Health, Carlie Chisolm, Marine Science, Kenzie Rosser, Workforce Preparation, Austin Cordle, Sports, Lily Thibodeaux, History, Morgan Long, Performing Arts – Vocal, and Christopher Timmons, Wildlife


9th – 12th grade District Project Achievement winners and project areas:

Cam Anderson, Sheep & Meat Goats, Kaitlyn Conner, Safety, Logan Money, Companion Animals, Traven Neal, Safety, Cody Conner, Outdoor Recreation, Taylor Ozment, Target Sports, Kendra Conner, General Recreation, Meagan Perry, Public Speaking, Chandler Godfrey, Food Fare, 4-H members advancing to state competition in July are: Hamp Thomas, Dog Care & Training, Mekenzie Parker, Photography, Faith Coalson, Workforce Preparation, Tyler Hunt, Target Sports, and Bronson Champion, Performing Arts – Vocal


The evening awards also included several specialty awards being presented.   These awards are presented to 4-H’ers who have excelled beyond county and individual work.   They have demonstrated leadership capabilities, responsibility, respect for themselves and fellow members, cooperation and resiliency.  The Horizon Award was presented to Gray Beach.  Four Excellences in Achievement awards were presented.   Awardees were Bronson Champion, Cody Conner, Chandler Godfrey and Mekenzie Parker.   Youth who received the County Leadership awards were Natalie Peterson and Lily Thibodeaux, both middle school members.  The senior Leadership award was presented to Hamp Thomas. Graduating seniors receiving 4-H graduation honor cords were Cody Conner, Leslie Thompson and Joseph Edwards.


The 4-H program would not be possible without the support and dedication of the 23 certified 4-H volunteer leaders, who donated 2,978 hours to 4-H education and programming over the past year.  This year’s Volunteer of the Year was presented to Jeffery “Bo” Conner.   The Friend of 4-H Award was presented to Ms. Joyce Lochridge, for her valuable contribution to the program and community.  Ms. Lochridge has invested numerous hours in assisting with the hanging basket project that is one of many community 4-H projects.  


It was evident that 4-H teaches more than chasing blue ribbons.  It grows great leaders.   I have stood in awe many times as I observed a shy 5th grader grow up through the program and graduate as a positive contributing young adult.  This was best articulated by one of our high school members, “4-H has enabled me to gain the skills to be the best I can and have the drive to know that I can make an impact in my community, country and world.”

4 h 2

Rebecca Thomas and Bo Conner (Volunteer of the Year)

4 h 3

Rebecca Thomas and Joyce Lochridge (Friend of 4-H)

4 h

Mekenzie Parker, Gray Beach (winner of Horizon Award), and Bronson Champion




By: Rebecca Thomas, County Extension Coordinator

Villeda Concrete
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *