Connect with us

Catoosa Local Government

Local Commissioners Challenged in May Primary

Two current county commissioners will be challenged for their seats in the May 22 primary.

Bobby Winters is running for re-election to the District 2 seat that he’s held since 2002. The challenger, Chuck Harris, is a medical equipment sales representative.  District 2 covers the central part of the county, with the Boynton community as it’s primary constituency. It also includes the Westside precinct.

District 4 Commissioner Ray Johnson is in his first term as a member of the county commission.  The challenger, Charles Stephens, is a local small business owner.  District 4 is the largest geographical district in the county, stretching from Woodstation to the Keith community, including the Blackstock and Poplar Springs precincts.

As of Thursday morning, March 8, no Democrats have qualified to run for countywide offices. Commissioners serve four year terms.

Election qualification in Georgia runs until noon on Friday, March 9.  Qualification paperwork for local offices is made available at the Catoosa Election office website, and paperwork and fees can be filed with either party at Freedom Center, located at 5238 Evitt St. in Ringgold.  Office hours are 8am-5pm on Thursday, 8am-12pm on Friday.

Denise (Pierce) Burns is a native of Catoosa County. She covers local government.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *