Connect with us

Gordon Schools

Proctor selected as an Alternate for United States Senate Youth Program

SHS Senior, Nick Proctor, Selected as an Alternate for United States Senate Youth Program

January 16, 2019, Washington, D.C. —The United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) announces that high school students Mr. Patrick Evan Chappel and Ms. Clarke Makenzie Peoples will join Senator Johnny Isakson and Senator David Perdue in representing Georgia in the nation’s capital during the 57th annual USSYP Washington Week, to be held March 2 — 9, 2019. Patrick Chappel of Columbus and Clarke Peoples of Atlanta were selected from among the state’s top student leaders to be part of the 104 national student delegation who will also each receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate
Chosen as alternates to the 2019 program were Mr. Nicklaus Proctor, a resident of Calhoun, who attends Sonoraville High School and Mr. Brandon Wilson, a resident of Lithia Springs, who attends Lithia Springs High School.
The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. Originally proposed by Senators Kuchel, Mansfield, Dirksen and Humphrey, the impetus for the program as stated in Senate testimony is “to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, learn the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials, and emphasize the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but for people around the world.” Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings the most outstanding high school students – two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity – to Washington, D.C. for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it. The overall mission of the program is to help instill within each class of USSYP student delegates more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. In addition to the program week, The Hearst Foundations provide each student with a $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue coursework in government, history and public affairs. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are also provided by The Hearst Foundations; as
stipulated in S.Res.324, no government funds are utilized.

Delegates and alternates are selected by the state departments of education nationwide and the District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity, after nomination by teachers and principals. The chief state school officer for each jurisdiction confirms the final selection. This year’s Georgia delegates and alternates were designated by Mr. Richard Woods, Georgia State Schools Superintendent.In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to volunteer work, the student delegates rank academically in the top one percent of their states among high school juniors and
seniors. Now more than 5,700 strong, alumni of the rogram continue to excel and develop impressive
qualities that are often directed toward public service. Among the many distinguished alumni are: Senator
Susan Collins, the first alumnus to be elected U.S. senator; Senator Cory Gardner, the second alumnus to be elected U.S. senator and the first to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives; former New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, the first alumnus to be elected governor; former Chief Judge Robert Henry, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; former Ambassador to West Germany Richard Burt, and former presidential advisors Thomas “Mack” McLarty and Karl Rove. Additional notables include former Lt. Governor of Idaho David Leroy, Provost of Wake Forest University Rogan Kersh, military officers, members
of state legislatures, Foreign Service officers, top congressional staff, healthcare providers and other
university educators. Members of the bipartisan U. S. Senate Youth Program 2019 Senate Advisory Committee: Senator Joni K. Ernst of Iowa, Republican Co-Chair; Senator Richard Blumenthal of Connecticut, Democratic Co-Chair; Advisory Members: Susan M. Collins (R-ME), Steve Daines (R-MT), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS),
John Kennedy (R-LA), Michael F. Bennet (D-CO), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Maggie Hassan (D-NH),
Chris Van Hollen (D-MD). Each year, the Honorary Co-Chairs of the program are the vice president of the
United States and the Senate majority and minority leaders. For more information please visit:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.