Connect with us

Higher Education

Georgia Tech Presidential Search Committee Named

The committee will conduct a national search to replace Georgia Tech President G.P. “Bud” Peterson, who will retire as president this summer.

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) has named members of the Georgia Institute of Technology Presidential Search Committee. The committee will conduct a national search to replace Georgia Tech President G.P. “Bud” Peterson, who will retire as president this summer.

“President Peterson has set records in research, enrollment and fundraising while leading Georgia Tech for the past decade,” Chancellor Steve Wrigley said. “I’m grateful for the members of the search committee who are dedicating their time and energy towards securing a bright future and talented leadership for Georgia Tech. We expect Georgia Tech’s next president to lead its world-class faculty, staff and students to even greater heights.”

Members of the Presidential Search Committee include:

  • Regent Ben J. Tarbutton III, committee chair
  • Regent C. Dean Alford
  • Regent Laura Marsh
  • Regent Sarah-Elizabeth Reed
  • Regent Sachin Shailendra
  • Regent Thomas Rogers Wade
  • Regent Don L. Waters, chairman, Board of Regents
  • Joeleen Akin, associate athletic director, Georgia Tech Athletic Association
  • Richard Barke, Ph.D., associate professor and director of undergraduate studies, School of Public Policy, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts
  • Nisha D. Botchwey, Ph.D. associate professor, School of City and Regional Planning, College of Design
  • John F. Brock III, CEO, Coca-Cola European Partners (retired); chair, Brock Holdings LLC
  • David Brown, Facilities Infrastructure and Power Plant; chair, Georgia Tech Staff Council
  • Andrew Cox, president, Graduate Student Government Association
  • Evan Gillon, president, Undergraduate Student Government Association
  • Samuel Graham, Ph.D., chair, Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Joseph L. A. Hughes, Ph.D., professor, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering; chair, Faculty Executive Board
  • Charles Isbell Jr., Ph.D., professor and executive associate dean, College of Computing
  • Michelle Jarrard, senior partner (retired), McKinsey & Company; board member, Lazard Inc., board member, Crawford & Company
  • Julia Kubanek, Ph.D., professor and associate dean, School of Biological Sciences, College of Sciences
  • Thomas E. Noonan, chairman, TEN Holdings LLC
  • Harold R. Reynolds, CEO, BankSouth
  • Beril Toktay, Ph.D., professor of operations management, Scheller College of Business

“This is an important endeavor, and we are committed to ensuring that Georgia Tech retains a president who will continue building off its strong traditions,” Search Committee Chair Ben Tarbutton said. “Like President Peterson, the next president must continue to work closely with the institution’s faculty, staff, students, community and state of Georgia. I look forward to working with the committee as we work to find the right leader for Georgia Tech.”

The Presidential Search Committee, created as outlined in board policy, will guide the first stage of the search. Heidrick & Struggles has been retained to provide executive search consulting services.

The initial meeting of the Presidential Search Committee will be held on Feb. 11 at the Georgia Tech campus, at which time the members will be formally charged with their roles and responsibilities in conducting the search.

Information direct from the University System of Georgia. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.