Connect with us

Bulloch Local Government

Rep.Tankersley Offers GA Military Scholarship Recommendations

State Representative Jan Tankersley (R-Brooklet) recently announced that she will offer letters of recommendation to qualified Georgia high school seniors seeking the Georgia Military Scholarship at the University of North Georgia.

The Georgia Military Scholarship award goes to 42 students every year, each reaching nearly $70,000 over four years of school. The scholarship is applied to uniforms, books, fees, tuition, room, and board. It often includes a monthly stipend.

“The Georgia Military Scholarship is an incredible opportunity for qualified high school students wishing to attend college and serve in the Georgia National Guard,” said Rep. Tankersley said in a statement. “As I travel around in my district, I am very proud of the potential I see in so many hard-working young people. I know the future of our great state depends on the next generation of leaders, and it is my honor to play a small role in their educational success.”

In addition to pursuing a bachelor’s degree from UNG, scholarship recipients will be commissioned as second lieutenants in the Georgia Army National Guard upon graduation.

To apply, applicants must:

  • be accepted to the University of North Georgia
  • submit a letter of recommendation from a sitting state representative or state senator
  • be a legal resident of Georgia
  • have a 3.0 high school GPA
  • meet physical and health standards for the Georgia National Guard
  • be a freshman entering the UNG Corps of Cadets

Contact Rep. Tankersley at 404.656.7855.

The deadline for scholarship applications is February 1, 2016.


Representative Jan Tankersley represents the citizens of District 160, which includes portions of Bryan and Bulloch counties. She was elected into the House of Representatives in 2010, and currently serves as the Chairman of the Intragovernmental Coordination Committee. She also serves on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Economic Development and the Agriculture & Consumer Affairs and Natural Resources & Environment committees.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *